65th National Film Awards announced today


Mumbai: The prestigious 65th National Film Awards are announced today on Friday.

The jury of the coveted awards is headed by noted filmmaker Shekhar Kapur. The jury panel consists of 10 members including Parinda screenwriter Imtiaz Hussain, lyricist Mehboob, South Indian actress Gautami Tadimalla and Kannada director P Sheshadri. Aniruddha Roy Chowdhury, Ranjit Das, Rajesh Mapuskar, Tripurari Sharma and Rumi Jaffrey are also included in the panel.

Sridevi has posthumously won her first National Award for Best Actress for her performance in MOM.

The awards will be given to the respective winners on May 3, following the schedule like every year.

Last year, Malayalam industry won big after the actress Surabhi Lakshmi bagged the Best Actress Award, bringing the title to the industry after a gap of many years. The panel was also headed by Mollywood director Priyadarshan.

In 2017, Akshay Kumar bagged the National Film Award for Best Actor for his film Rustom while Surabhi Lakshmi for Minnaminungu- the Firefly. Young actress Zaira Wasim won the National Film Award for Best Supporting Actress in Dangal and Sonam Kapoor won the special mention for her critically acclaimed performance in Neerja.


Leave a Reply