Election Commission announces poll dates for Rajasthan, Chhattisgarh, MP, Mizoram, Telangana

National News From States Politics

NEW DELHI: The Election Commission of India on Saturday announced the poll schedules for Madhya Pradesh,Rajasthan, Chhattisgarh, Telangana and Mizoram. Addressing the media, CEC OP Rawat informed that states of Rajasthan (200 seats) and Telangana (119 seats) will go to polls together on 7 December, while Madhya Pradesh and Mizoram will vote on November 28.

In Chhattisgarh, the first phase of voting will take place on November 12 and the second phase on November 20. Model of conduct to come into force in Madhya Pradesh, Rajasthan, Chhattisgarh and Mizoram with immediate effect: Chief election commissioner OP Rawat told.

Rawat said that counting of votes in all the five states will be held simultaneously on December 11. He said that the whole election exercise will be completed before December 15.

The tenure of Madhya Pradesh Legislative Assembly ends on 7 January 2019 and Rajasthan assembly’s tenure ends in January 20, 2019. While Mizoram CM Lal Thanhawla’s tenure will finish on 15th December and Chhattisgarh CM Raman Singh’s tenure will end on 5th January.

The BJP is in power in three of these states – Rajasthan, Madhya Pradesh and Chhattisgarh.

Leave a Reply