Five Lok Sabha MPs resign after being elected as Lawmakers


NEW DELHI: Three MPs who were elected on the Bharatiya Janata Party’s ticket and two Congress parliamentarians have resigned from the lower house  after being elected legislators in their state Assemblies according to government notification. Speaker Sumitra Mahajan has accepted the resignation of the five parliamentarians.

Two Congress leaders — Tamradhwaj Sahu and Raghu Sharma — resigned after they were elected as lawmakers during the recently-held assembly polls in Chhattisgarh and Rajasthan respectively. BJP MPs Manohar Untwal and Nagendra Singh from Madhya Pradesh resigned after being elected MLAs in state elections.

Harish Chandra Meena, who won from Dausa parliamentary constituency in Rajasthan as Bharatiya Janata Party’s candidate, joined the Congress in November and was elected as MLA in the state Assembly elections.

Leave a Reply